Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Why am I still awake and starting that at nearly 1:00am T.T I have term papers to turn in, and creative projects to procrastinate on. Well, because last week left on such a high note, I guess. I’m just really interested in what Luck & Logic has to offer next, and whether this episode can break the cycle of hype and disappointment. It’s time for week 10 of Luck & Logic.

Story:

Luck and Logic episode 10

So since Lucifer confronted Olga directly at the end of last episode, the two have disappeared. Olga took Lucifer up on his offer for partnership, and Lucifer brought him out to the edge of town to show him the cult Lucifer has apparently assembled. No, Olga’s red-flags aren’t malfunctioning. In fact, he seems to be something of a compliant hostage, and Lucifer still has his Logic Card, the key to his… something. Yeah, we’ve gotten kind of inconsistent showings of how important these things can be, but I’m going to assume this is a Yoshichika situation, and Olga can’t be a Logicalist without that card.

Anyway, the two get up to some male bonding, and we’ll get into just want that means in the yaoi portion of these week’s notes, but for now it’s mostly just a decently interesting version of the, “You and me are actually more alike than you realize,” villain speech, and some insight into his character. Olga’s not immediately won over, but he does seem to start buying into Lucifer as a good guy. The audience probably is, too.

Luck and Logic episode 10

Back at base, Quetzalcoatl, that foreigner who become Yukari’s partner, shares some knowledge about Lucifer with the other Logicalists. It would be nice if he shared it with us, too; it has something to do with “Gate Cards” and “Archdemons” and other terms that have never come up before and make no sense. I’m sure it’s some very interesting stuff, but it’s impenetrable to the viewer right now.

In any case, the Logicalists seem to figure out part of Lucifer’s plan, as well as the fact that Olga’s probably been “mind-controlled” by him. Writers, please don’t equivocate “being convinced by, even falsely” and “mind-control”. It’s confusing, and makes it sound like your villain has a power he doesn’t actually have. He’s just charismatic.

Luck and Logic episode 10

Thankfully Lucifer explains his plan a lot better. He’s using his Gate Card, which seems to be what opens portals for foreigners to come through, to bring his fellow exiled Archdemons to earth, simply to live peacefully. Or maybe to kill everyone. It that racist of me to assume, just because they’re Archdemons? I mean, for all I know, “Archdemon” could mean “hospitable guest” in their language.

Well, Olga believes him anyway, and then Lucifer does that villain eye-narrowing thing that’s lets you know he’s actually a villain and is just tricking the good guy. I kinda wish he hadn’t done that, because I could have really gotten into the idea of being tricked right alongside Olga. I was starting to think Lucifer was a trustworthy guy. I mean, is there another name out there that just screams trust the way “Lucifer” does?

Yoshichika engages with Olga to try to win him back to the light side, but after Trancing into… this interesting form

Luck and Logic episode 10

Olga’s completely fallen for Lucifer’s lies.

Luck and Logic episode 10

Meanwhile, Mana stumbled upon another part of Lucifer’s master plan, “Logic Card Transplants.” I have no clue what it means either, but his followers are somehow getting Logic Cards which… do something… maybe?

Thankfully, once again, Lucifer/Olga explains. People are trancing with foreigners is the gist of it. For the foreigners, it gives them a host, a place in our world. For the people… they’re “reborn as their ideal selves.”

Well, it doesn’t matter if it makes sense because it’s happening anyway. Olga easily beats the ALCA into submission, and releases all their captured foreigners to trance-jack the cult followers with. The city is overrun with monsters, and Olga looks pleased with himself.

 

Lucifer:

a) I liked his “We’re quite alike” moment. That kind of thing usually feels really forced, but this had solid grounding to it. Olga was being accused of setting foreigners free and just generally betraying the ALCA. And while we didn’t get full details, Lucifer was ex-communicated from his home dimension.

I like that it’s done with Olga, and not Yoshichika. Olga had room to fit that role, and could play along with it like he’s doing. Also, the fact that they have the same hair colour is a little heavy handed as imagery, but it works.

Luck and Logic episode 10

Just kiss already!

And I like the little bit of insight we get into Lucifer, even as he’s deceiving. He may be tricking Olga, but I get the impression that he was really sharing his views on the word “evil,” in that scene, as a means of almost denying the “evil” person redemption. I hope we get more insight on his character that follows up on that.

b) But I really wish that the episode didn’t give away that he is evil, or at least plotting something. There could have been an interesting, engaging moral conflict, but then the show’s like, “Hey, do worry about the intellectual strain of sympathising with these views. The guy’s totally actually evil.” It’s like if in Pokémon Black/White, someone as early as Accumula Town just flat out told you Ghetsis was a fraud. It would ruin the courage or the themes, and kill the pay-off of finding out later.

 

Olga:

a) I like how big a role he’s gotten, and this conflict. I liked Olga since episode 1, and seeing him finally be not only a prominent character, but the crux of the major story arc, is awesome. I like that he was convinced onto Lucifer’s side, partly because there is something to believe in there, and partly because he was desperate for acceptance and power (or more accurately, the achievement of this potential he’s been building up since the beginning). And I like that he and Yoshichika got to be friends just before this started. It’s a good rivalry between them; not quite Naruto and Sasuke, but it’s still good.

b) I don’t like that his personality is so different that he’s basically a different character when he and Lucifer Trance. I get it, he is a different character, both of them contribute to the will of this Tranced form. But to have him go from, “I think I can understand this point of view,” to, “I am all powerful, and will destroy all who oppose this new world order!” just doesn’t sit well.

Olga’s place right now is supposed to be that of a mislead good guy. He shouldn’t be itching for an opportunity to fight; he should be pursuing Lucifer’s co-existence ideal in the most noble way he sees possible. Otherwise, he doesn’t come off as mislead. He comes off as an asshole.

 

Final Thoughts:

Luck and Logic episode 10

So could someone tell me what these three dudes are so happy about?

This was a short one, and even then all I really have left to say is, please tone down the Logic Card terminology. The actually story isn’t all that complicated, but my ears were glazing over every time they started hearing “Logic” this, and “Card” that.

Don’t Lose Your Way

 

Update: So that stuff I said about term papers and stuff in the intro, that’s still kinda true. Things will be busy for me for the next few weeks, which will affect the content here on The Anime Harvest. Don’t celebrate yet, there will still be new posts.

For nearly two years now, I’ve had a goal of posting at least one new article each week, and I don’t plan on breaking that now. I generally have a buffer of a week or two’s worth of content so I never have worry too much about that deadline, and so getting stuff up in time never feels like a chore. Over the next little while, that’s where new posts will be coming from; it’s all the same content I usually post, just coming out a bit earlier than I expected.

What will be effected is This Week on, because those are written the same day or night before they get posted, usually right when the new episode becomes available.

I will still try to get these Luck & Logic ones done when I can because I do think the show is worth at least a small damn, but they’ll get delayed a bit. The trade-off? Look forward to an erotic manga review, some baseless Pokémon Gen VII speculation, and maybe even a philosophical analysis of Evangelion characters if I get around to editing it!

Now, um… I already used my usual sign off, so now I need something else. How about a line from another anime song that means a lot to me (and happens to be the subject on another series of articles that won’t be posted for a while):

No matter how far
I will be able to make it.
Yes, it was because of that time
When I met you on this road
That made it possible.

