Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was right, Mion’s not the killer because she’s too badass! At least according to her. I’m sure it’s a fair testimony.

“My phone is out of range, but your phone has a signal. If they’re the same model, should that really happen?” Umm, yes. I’m no cell phone expert, kinda hate the things, but I know enough to say that signals can be pretty inconsistent.

Wait, this kid owes three million yen just in interest? And that’s just to one creditor! Another one was planning to collect off a life insurance policy. I found this amazing, and just had to do a little research, so if you’re interested in that, it’ll be at the bottom of the article.

So the impression I got from the previous volume has now completely changed. I thought there was something suspicious about the car supposedly just disappearing, and Otobe was hiding something, but I didn’t expect this much. Still, that eliminates most of the mystery. The girl, Towada is still the one who killed her boyfriend. And she hid Arakawa’s motorcycle because she plans to kill them all as a precaution. I doubt I’ve figured it all out, but that’s my current theory. Mion’s the only oddity left.
Also, if we’ve got Oyashiro-Sama curse rules going on, that’s now four death and no disappearances. Only one murder though.

Okay, I was right about Towada murding, but she says she never thinks she’ll do it again. Given that she’s clearly nuts, I’m inclined to believe she actually thinks that, so she’s not planning to kill the others. So she would have no need to hide Arakawa’s bike.

Now the Sonozaki in fighting thing. This is getting to be one long night a the Furude shrine, and unfortunately, I can’t get much out of it for the larger Higurashi mysteries.

Oh, Arakawa reads Dragon Ball? I wonder if that’s where inspiration for all that shounen comes from ;p

After Mion slices a bullet in half, “Is that even possible.” It’s like Higurashi is suddenly trying to parody ridiculous samurai films, without the parody part. I’ve got nothing to say to all this.

Shion will be here soon. Well, for what it’s worth, we don’t know she’s dead. I mean, the volume 6 victim list said she’s dead, and last time Arakawa said everyone related to Hinamizawa went insane or died, but there’s a change she’s not dead. Oh who am I kidding, everyone involved in this arc is probably already dead. It’s some Death Parade stuff going on.

Of course it was Shion. It’s always Shion. I knew I should never have trusted her.

Arakawa: “I have no clue how I’m supposed to organize all this into an article.” Preaching to the choir there, buddy. I liked Byond Midnight, but it’s certainly a different Higurashi story. Well, uhhhh… Next time, something a bit more normal.

Don’t Lose Your Way

 

Rant on Otobe’s debt:

Some of this stuff is more disturbing than Higurashi, but my sick curiosity has been piqued. So, let’s start with this, from Wikipedia (I didn’t say I did good research), apparently Yamikin, Japanese loan sharks, usually charge an interest rate of 10%. An interest of three million means the loan was for around 30 million.
As for the life insurance, “In fiscal year 2005, 17 consumer loan firms received a combined 4.3 billion yen in suicide policy payouts on 4,908 borrowers”. The year there is good, because in Beyond Midnight, we’re looking at a story taking place between 2003 and 2006. Those numbers mean an average payout of about 876,120.62 yen, lower than the average life issuance policy in Japan which I’ve estimated to be around 7.5 million yen, but that’s to be expected since these are probably not long term plans. Also, we know Otobe dropped out of school after about six months. Given that he was a student, and he had only had the plan for at most about seven months before this creditor tried to collect, we can assume his payout would have been on the lower end, maybe 800,000 yen.
Based on his phone messages and people at his door, Otobe likely had other outstanding loans. We can confirm at least one loan to the people at the door. On the phone there are twenty messages and we see eight of them. Five are from loan collectors, three from friends and family. Using that ratio and rounding generously, that’s twelve loans, plus the one at the door for thirteen.
The only two we know the amounts for at 30 million yen, and 800,000 yen. Assuming the 30 million is an outlier, let’s say the other eleven average out to another 800,000 yen each. That’s a total of 38.8 million yen.
The Japanese school year starts on the first of April. Setting this in 2003 (a year before the middle of our timeframe for when Beyond Midnight is set), that means dropped out and was at the peak of his debt in October 2003. Adjusting for inflation, and converting to Canadian currency, that’s just shy of $415,000 CAD today. So the ultimate mystery of Higurashi comes forth… how the hell can some kid spend nearly half a million dollars in six months?!

